Gloomhaven

pew pew pew
Alan
Veteran Doodler

Gloomhaven

Post by Alan »

Someone on my Facebook feed posted a photo of the Gloomhaven box that they just received so I went looking around to find out what it was.

https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2017/04/ ... ngly-good/

It looks pretty interesting. Hefty price tag though.

Jonathan
Grand Pooh-Bah

Re: Gloomhaven

Post by Jonathan »

I've been playing for 9 months or so. AMA

Jonathan
Grand Pooh-Bah

Post by Jonathan »

Couple things, actually.

We're playing first edition. I have no experience with the second printing.

I personally feel like the play experience is best with four players. The rules are given for fewer, but some encounters are very challenging without a specific array of cards. More players gives more variety.

The basic mechanics are very tight and satisfying. I really like how they used decks for randomness. I do wish the initiative mechanic wasn't balanced around no table talk.

Monster adjudication isn't hard, exactly, but there's some corner cases you need to understand. We basically have one guy decide monster target and movement because he's got the rules down cold.

The tone of the plot events can be uneven. Sometimes I'm not sure what kind of party this is?

It does do a pretty good job of balancing persistent state with missing players. I'm happy to play it every other session, or whatever.

Alan
Veteran Doodler

Post by Alan »

How easy is the game to learn for novices?

I know I'll be able to pick it up, but for people who have played D&D maybe once or twice in their lives and whose board game experience is limited to Settlers, would this go way over their heads?

Jonathan
Grand Pooh-Bah

Post by Jonathan »

Assuming someone (aka you) stepped up to learn the monster rules and run the monsters/encounter events, then the player's ruleset is pretty self-contained. All the stuff your character can do is in your hand of cards, so there's no memorization. You just read from the cards.